Archbishop's and Chaplain's Unit Recognition Awards

Catholic Scouting Award

Get your application in by December 1st!

Please use the attached application, updated January 9, 2014.  Old applications will not be accepted. If you have any questions about the new requirements, please contact us and we will help you!

These competitive awards give recognition to Catholic sponsored units that exemplify Scouting’s ideals. Awards are presented on Scout Sunday in the Cathedral Basilica.

PatchesPatchesApplications are due the first Firday in December. Please make sure you get your application in on or before that date.

There are three levels of recognition for both awards: Merit, Honor, and Outstanding. Awardees are selected on a competitive basis utilizing the following criteria:

  • Training
  • Leadership
  • Service
  • Spiritual Growth
  • Religious Activities
  • Vocational Awareness
  • Relationships
  • Membership

The following is a list of Unit awards that can be earned for Boy Scout Troop and Venturers:

One unit award in each award group for Boy Scout Troops / One unit award in each award group for Venturing Crews.

  • Archbishop's Outstanding Unit
  • Archbishop's Honor Unit
  • Archbishop's Merit Unit

The following is a list of Unit awards that can be earned for Cub Packs:

One Unit award in each award group for Cub Scout Packs.

  • Chaplain's Outstanding Unit
  • Chaplain's Honor Unit
  • Chaplain's Merit Unit

New: Participation Levels
All Units who qualify for the Quality Unit Award but are not in the top three in their respective category will receieve a Unit ribbon in one of the following levels:

  • Participation
  • Silver
  • Gold

These levels are also awarded based on a point system.  Because so many Units are close to the top three in points, we came up with this system in order to still recognize all of the great work that you do and to show that you are still a Quality Catholic Unit.

Download the attached application form below:

ABC Unit Awards Application revised 05.2015.doc333 KB